Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Attention Students!

We are now accepting applications for 2018 Undergraduate/Graduate Summer Research Fellowships. Details and applications can be found here.

Department News Highlights:

Chem Club at ACS Conference March 2018The Boise State ACS Chemistry Club presented at the 255th ACS National Conference in New Orleans. Read more here.

Thaaer Muhammed

Congratulations to Thaaer Muhammed of the M.S. Chemistry Program for successfully defending his thesis titled “Total Synthesis of 6,7-Dimethyl-N-Methyl Aziridinomitosene”.

Chris SaundersDr. Chris Saunders appeared as a guest scientist on two of Idaho Public Television’s “Science Trek” recent webcasts. In the webcasts he demonstrated fundamental chemistry topics such as the Law of Definite Proportions, the definition of an element and compounds, and the Law of Conservation of Mass. Read more and view the videos here.

Omid Mohammad MousaCongratulations to Omid Mohammad Mousa for winning best poster of his session at the 2018 Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP)/Society for Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) undergraduate research conference.

His poster was titled “Enzymatic synthesis of S-adenosyl-L-methionine (SAM) using archaeon Methanococcus jannaschii S-Adenosylmethionine synthase (MJ-MAT)”.

Owen McDougal and Matthew TurnerDr. Owen McDougal and Biomolecular Sciences Ph.D. student Matthew Turner have a new publication out in Clinical Toxicology titled “Hikers poisoned: Veratrum steroidal alkaloid toxicity following ingestion of foraged Veratrum parviflorum”. Read more about their research here… 

Mike CallahanDr. Michael Callahan has been awarded a NASA grant to study organic material found on asteroids. The two-year, $446,413 grant will be used to develop analytical techniques to analyze the organic composition of material collected in space during NASA missions. Callahan’s research is being funded by the NASA Laboratory Analysis of Returned Samples (LARS) program. Read more about the NASA grant here…

Tony Roark and Owen McDougalProfessor and Chair Owen McDougal received the Boise State College of Arts and Sciences 2017 Faculty Excellence Award for his strong contributions to teaching, research, and service. Read more about the 2017 Faculty Excellence Award here…